The Doctoral Program of Management Accounting and Controllership (DOCMAC) was founded in the year 2000. In 2005 the graduate school extended its scope to include all aspects of accounting, subsequently changing its name to the Graduate School of Accounting (GSA).

The objective of the graduate school is to create a program to enhance the level of post graduate studies by coordinating research, teaching and tutorials carried out in different schools within the same field. Anyone who has been accepted as a post graduate student into one of KATAJAs member universities is welcome to participate in courses arranged by the GSA.

New students are accepted into GSA once a year. For students accepted the Graduate School of Accounting will offer coordinated supervision by means of thesis committees and preference to attend special courses.

The Graduate School of Accounting is run by an executive group aiming at coordinating the research in the field of accounting on a national level. The executive group is also in charge of integrating post graduate studies carried out in Finland with connected studies in Europe and the Nordic countries through EIASM and NordForsk. Nordic cooperation is also encouraged through Nordic Accounting Research Network. Professor Juha-Pekka Kallunki (University of Oulu) serves as director and coordinator of the GSA, e-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The executive group:

  • Prof. Teemu Malmi (Aalto University School of Economics)
  • Prof. Pontus Troberg (Hanken School of Economics)
  • Prof. Jukka Pellinen (Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics)
  • Prof. Jaana Sandström (Lappeenranta University of Technology)
  • Prof. Mervi Niskanen (University of Eastern Finland)
  • Prof. Juha-Pekka Kallunki (University of Oulu, Oulu Business School)
  • Prof. Salme Näsi (University of Tampere, School of Management)
  • Prof. Hannu Schadewitz (University of Turku, Turku School of Economics)
  • Prof. Erkki K. Laitinen (University of Vaasa)
  • Prof. Lars Hassel (Åbo Akademi University)